New Look Stainless Steel Awards in Pursuit Of Brilliance in 2016

Johannesburg, 26 April 2016 - The 2016 Sassda Columbus Stainless Awards are gearing up to recognise a stellar list of award winners in October, with the news that the Southern Africa Stainless Steel Development Association (sassda) will provide a free consulting service to assist companies requiring help with the entry process.

Sassda Executive Director John Tarboton comments; “In the past we found that despite entry being free, a big barrier to some companies participating in the awards was the actual entry process; namely filling in the application form comprehensively and in the correct manner.” To enhance the entry process, sassda representatives can now visit prospective entrants’ offices and assist them with completing the entry form to ensure the process is as quick and easy as possible. Tarboton explains; “In this way, we also hope to increase the number of local and international entries from the 44 that we received in 2014, with the overall aim of ensuring the cream of South Africa’s stainless steel crop rises to the top in 2016.”

A Boost to the Industry

Looking at the role the awards have to play in the growth and development of the local stainless steel sector, Tarboton says the importance of the awards shouldn’t be underestimated. “They’re instrumental in raising awareness of stainless steel and its myriad of uses and applications within the local and global economy. By recognising excellence within the local stainless steel sector in particular, the awards have become a source of inspiration to ensure that global quality standards are adhered and strived for.”

In terms of entry requirements; individuals and companies (locally and abroad) that are involved in the design, production, conversion, distribution, use or specification of stainless steel are eligible to enter. The criteria for entries is as follows:

  • Excellence – Exceptional work concepts and execution
  • Innovation – Creativity originality and advancement
  • Sustainability – For the business and environment
  • Efficiency – Keeping to deadlines and minimising costs
  • Quality – Of the products and work done
  • Impact on the environment – Ensuring minimal carbon footprint
  • Job creation – Employment opportunities created

A key focus of this year’s revitalised awards is an enhanced list of Categories that have been altered and expanded to improve their relevance to the real world scenario that entrants face on a daily basis. They now include: Architecture, Building and Construction; Engineering; Export Achievement; Ferritic Stainless Steel; Duplex Stainless Steel; Food and Beverage; Catering and Hospitality; Art; Manufacturing Innovation; Product Development; Environmental Excellence; as well as Student; Lifetime Achievement and Business Excellence awards.

A clear return on investment

Overall, Tarboton says the awards are an invaluable means of promoting entrants’ businesses. “Our aim is to boost the aspirational value of the awards by ensuring that participants see the clear return on investment that their participation and winning provides, through the creation of greater market awareness of their product or service, as well as networking with other key players in the industry.

“Ultimately, the awards should be seen as the ‘Oscars’ of the local industry and with this streamlined entry process, we are putting our money where our mouth is when it comes to ensuring that everyone who deserves to be a winner, is a winner”.


Entries for the awards close on the 31 July 2016 and will be judged by an independent panel of judges drawn from recognised professionals, representing all sectors of industry. Finalists and winners will be announced at a Gala Banquet on the 20 October 2016


To enter or for more information click here or e-mail .

Published 09/06/2016 10:20:59 Last Modified 09/06/2016 10:33:25

Related Links: